Geneva Cookies

12 Days of Cookies
– Day 12 –

I’m in love with Pepperidge Farm cookies. It takes a lot of restraint for me not to pick up a bag of Milano cookies or a tin of Pirouettes. Another favorite is their Geneva cookie, so when my friend pointed me in the direction of a DIY version on Izy’s site, Top With Cinnamon, I knew these were a must make!

Plus.. today is Day 12 of the 12 Days of Cookies!! Yay!! While I’m a bit sad to be done with this series (mainly because I have SOO many other cookie recipes I want to make), I must admit I’m relieved as it was awfully time-consuming and, frankly, I’m tired of washing dishes!! ;-)

With that being said, I’m going to be taking a break from here until the New Year. While I have things I want to share with you all, I just don’t have the time to post during the holidays. I’d rather take that time to work on some new things to share with you all starting in January. So, enough about that… time to focus on this last batch of cookies!

Geneva Cookies

Mmm… cookies.

These are super easy to make, although a little time-consuming with the rolling process. Izy suggests you can simply press them into circles, but I really didn’t find the process all that hard. Plus, while one batch is baking you can simply work on the next batch, and so on and so forth.

The dough is thrown together using the basic creaming method. Yes, that’s a lot of vanilla and yes, it calls for that much lemon juice. Trust me, it’s necessary and makes them taste soo good! The basic process after that is scooping, rolling (2x) and then pressing. I’ve included a picture below with the 4 steps.

Geneva Cookies

Geneva Cookies

I started out real nice and fancy with my pressing method, as can be seen above. However, by the 2nd and 3rd batch I found myself simply pressing them flat with 3 fingers in about 2-3 motions. I mean, they’re going to get covered in chocolate and a topping of your choice, so does the shape/size really matter that much? The main thing you need to focus on is trying to press them evenly to about 1/4″. Otherwise, it’s a free-for-all. :)

After the cookies are baked, the chocolate of your choice (I used bittersweet!) is spread on top and then the topping(s) of your choice are sprinkled on top. I didn’t have a lot of time to grab stuff, so I used what I had on hand which was crushed candy canes and toasted coconut. Mmm…

Geneva Cookies

Geneva Cookies

Geneva Cookies
Adapted from Top With Cinnamon
Yield: Approx. 40 cookies (#70 scoop)

Cookies:
7 ounces (14 Tablespoons) butter, softened
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
1 Tablespoon lemon juice or white vinegar
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt

Chocolate Glaze:
8 – 10 ounces chocolate (I used bittersweet)
1/2 teaspoon coconut oil

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees F (150 degrees C) and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat.

2. Using an electric mixer, cream the butter and sugar. Add the vanilla and lemon juice/vinegar.

3. Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a separate bowl and whisk to combine. Add to the butter mixture and mix until just combined.

4. Using a #70 scoop (1 Tablespoon), scoop the dough and roll into balls. Roll each ball until it’s approximately 2″ long and place on the cookie sheet. Using your fingers, flatten the dough until it forms an oval shape, approximately 1/4 inch thick. Space the cookies about 1/2″ apart. I turned them to an angle and was able to fit 12 cookies (3×4) on my 1/4 sheet.

5. Bake cookies for 18-20 minutes, rotating halfway through baking, until they are lightly golden brown. Cool completely on a wire rack.

6. Melt 8 ounces of chocolate with the coconut oil in a double boiler or in the microwave at 50% heat. Spread approximately 1/2 teaspoon onto each cookie and then sprinkle your desired toppings on top. Cool completely at room temperature. Store in an airtight container up to 4 days.

Variations: Feel free to use your imagination with these and put any number of ingredients on top, but some suggestions I have are:
– spread different chocolate on top (white, milk, semisweet, dark)
– nuts (almonds, pecans, peanuts, walnuts)
– crushed candy canes
– coconut (toasted or un-toasted)
– seeds (sesame, sunflower)
– crushed pretzel pieces
– chopped dried fruit (blueberries, cranberries, cherries, apricots)

Leave a Reply

