Triple M Cookies

I’m back with another awesome cookie recipe. Did the name intrigue you? Well, don’t get too excited. I was just too lazy to write out the full name. ;-) I found this recipe on one of my favorite foodie sites Food52. On the site, they’re called Magical Marvelous Memorable Cookies. That’s just too much of a mouthful, no pun intended. So we’re just going to call these Triple M Cookies and be done with it. :)

These cookies are an excellent idea for a person who wants to make cookies on the fly. They’re essentially a basic chocolate chip cookie recipe with other stuff tossed in for fun. The beauty of this cookie is you can make it a thousand different ways depending on what you put in it. The author suggests granola or any other cereal, crushed pretzel pieces or some other salty snack food, chocolate chips or chocolate candies, any type of nut and various spices, such as cinnamon, allspice and cardamom (if desired). You could even toss in dried fruit, such as cherries, raisins, currants or chopped up apricots. Really, the possibilities are endless.

I made these cookies twice. The first time I used up some leftover Rice Krispies, crushed pretzel sticks, pecan pieces, milk chocolate chips and semisweet chocolate chips. They were awesome, although I couldn’t really taste the Rice Krispies. The second time around I made them exactly the same, except I substituted granola for the Rice Krispies. I liked that result much better, plus it allowed me the chance to find the perfect baking time.

As is my new method with most cookie recipes, I immediately scooped the batter into balls onto a cookie sheet, wrapped them in plastic wrap and refrigerated them for a few hours or overnight. If you’re too impatient to wait, I’m sure they’ll work just fine. The cookie will have an overall better texture, though, if you can allow them to chill for at least 1 hour. :) I lightly pressed these cookies down and, in my opinion, they spread just the perfect amount. These cookies are amazing out of the oven and have a crisp and chewy texture. The next day they’re not quite as soft, but they still have wonderfully crisp edges and a chewy center (so long as you don’t overbake them!)

I definitely plan on having some fun with these cookies and trying out different candies, cereals, chocolate, fruits and nuts. Let me know if you come up with any fun flavor combinations!

Triple M Cookies

Triple M Cookies
Adapted from Food52
Yield: 2 – 2 1/2 dozen

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons cornstarch
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 3/4 sticks (7 ounces) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup granola (or other cereal)
1/2 cup crushed salted pretzel pieces (or other salty snack food)
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (or other chocolate pieces)
1/2 cup chopped pecans or other nuts, optional (See Note)
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, allspice or cardamom, if desired

1. In a medium bowl, sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt; set aside.

2. Using an electric mixer, cream the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy; scrape bowl well. Add egg and vanilla, beat for about 30 seconds and then scrape the bowl.

3. On low speed, add the flour mixture until just incorporated. Fold in the granola, pretzels, chocolate chips and nuts.

4. Scoop dough by rounded scoopfuls and place on a parchment-lined pan. Cover dough with plastic wrap and refrigerate at least 3 hours or overnight. Alternately, you can freeze them for about 20 minutes and then bake them.

5. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (218 degrees C) and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat.

6. Place chilled cookies 2 inches apart on cookie sheet and lightly press down to flatten. Bake for 10-12 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through baking, or until the edges are lightly brown. Do not over bake!! My cookies were perfect at 11 minutes, but you’ll need to check them closely as all ovens are different.

7. Put cookies on a cooling rack until completely cooled. Store in an airtight container for up to 3 days.


Cook’s Notes

1. If you do not add nuts, replace that 1/2 cup with more cereal, pretzels or chocolate chips. Otherwise, cookies might spread too much

6 thoughts on “Triple M Cookies

  1. I can’t wait to make but how do I cut down on the sodium and still have a yummy cookie? I can leave out the pretzels but what about the soda and salt?

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Pingback: Triple Chip Cookies | The Great American Feast

  3. Pingback: Winter Triple Chip Cookies | The Great American Feast

  4. I love pretzels and sweets together so I am going to whip up a batch of these cookies. I think they make a nice addition to my cookie exchange repertoire as well.

Leave a Reply

