Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Two of my favorite things in life are peanut butter and chocolate. When you combine the two together, it’s magic! One of the first recipes that grabbed my attention in Baked: New Frontiers in Baking was their recipe for peanut butter chocolate chip cookies. I’ll admit their brief description of the cookie (because there was no accompanying picture) is what sold me.

Despite feeling that a few of the ingredients were off in quantity, I decided to make the recipe as is because I felt it fair that I critique the original recipe before attempting my own revised version. The original recipe produced a very thin cookie that spread immensely and, in my opinion, didn’t have nearly enough chocolate chips. So I decided to increase the flour by 1/2 cup to help stiffen up the dough, and I also doubled the amount of chocolate chips. The result, if I say so myself, made the perfect cookie – crispy on the edges, chewy in the middle and loaded with chocolate chunks.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Another change that I made was to add in some semi-sweet chips (despite their recommendation not to). They felt the darker chocolate would taste bitter which I did not agree with at all, plus I personally found the milk chocolate to be too mellow. I’m also a fan of darker chocolates and often find milk chocolate too sweet, so I only added in a little semi-sweet to help offset the milk chocolate. I felt it provided a nice balance of chocolate flavor, plus I felt having two different types of chocolate added depth to the overall flavor.

One final adjustment was in the yield. Their recipe claims it makes 2 dozen, but mine made a little over 3 dozen. Even when I made the original recipe, I got way more cookies out of the batch than they did. As with a lot of the cookies I bake, you’ll want to have rounded scoops of dough and I used a #50 scoop again.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted from Baked: New Frontiers in Baking

Yield: 3 dozen cookies

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup creamy peanut butter (I use Jif)
1 1/2 cups milk chocolate chips
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1. In a medium bowl, sift the flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.

2. Using an electric mixer, cream the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy; scrape bowl well. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well between additions. Add vanilla and peanut butter and mix until just incorporated.

3. Add half the flour mixture and mix for 15 seconds. Add the remaining flour mixture and mix until just incorporated. Fold in chocolate chips.

4. Scoop dough by rounded scoopfuls and place on a parchment-lined pan. Cover dough with plastic wrap and refrigerate at least 3 hours or overnight.

5. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (218 degrees C) and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat.

6. Place chilled cookies 2 inches apart on cookie sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through baking, or until the edges are lightly brown.

7. Put cookies on a cooling rack until completely cooled. Store in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

One thought on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Brown Butter Nutella-Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies | Remote Control-Proof

Leave a Reply

