Chocolate Chip Cookies

I have been on the hunt for the “perfect” chocolate chip cookie recipe for.. well.. as long as I can recall. I cannot tell you how many recipes I’ve tried, none of which ever 100% satisfied me. Pretty much every cookie tastes great right out of the oven, but the true test of a cookie recipe is how the cookie tastes the following day or even 2 days later. That’s where most recipes fall short. The good ol’ Toll House recipe is a prime example. Those cookies are near perfection the day you bake them, but the following day they’re rock hard. I’ve tried underbaking them, I’ve added a packet of vanilla pudding mix (which is actually a decent fix) and I’ve experimented with different fats instead of using just butter, per the recipe on the bag. Ultimately, the recipe just doesn’t cut it in my opinion (sorry, Toll House).

I’ve admittedly never been an expert at making cookies. I’m not sure what it is. I went to culinary school, but for some reason cookies have never been my forte. An ex-boyfriend of mine even told me once that everything I bake is amazing… except my cookies. I won’t name names, but he knows who he is. ;-) And it’s okay. I didn’t take offense because deep down I knew I was awful at making cookies! Honestly, I think I overthink things too much and that results in my downfall. I try to make recipes more complex or utilize skills I learned in school, but honestly it’s often best when you just keep things simple. (Doesn’t that apply to a lot of things in life?)

With that being said, I stumbled across this recipe on Averie’s blog and really wanted to try it. Her pictures had me instantly drooling, and the addition of cornstarch was intriguing. I honestly can’t say I’ve made a cookie with cornstarch before, so I was excited to try something new. The results are awesome. This cookie is super easy to make, and they’re crisp on the outside and chewy in the middle. While they didn’t stay crisp on days 2 and 3, I’m happy to report that they were still SOFT! No more hard cookies!

I plan on experimenting a bit with this base and adding in different types of chocolate, nuts and who knows what else. This time around I used 1 cup Ghirardelli semi-sweet chips and 1 cup Ghirardelli 60% bittersweet chips. I’ll definitely keep you all posted on my future experimentations. ;-)

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate chips folded into the batter

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Cookie dough scooped and ready to be refrigerated

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Final product – perfect with a cold glass of milk or almond milk!

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted from Averie Cooks

Yield: 2 dozen medium-sized cookies

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1/4 cup shortening*
3/4 cup light brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons cornstarch
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (or chunks)
1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips (or chunks)

1. Using a mixer, beat the butter and shortening on low speed until smooth, 1 to 2 minutes. Add the sugars and beat on medium-high speed until creamed and well combined, about 3 minutes. Scrape the bowl and add the egg and vanilla.

2. Combine the flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt in a separate bowl. Add all at once to the butter/egg mixture and mix on low speed until just combined, about 1 minute. Add the chocolate chips and mix on low for 1 more minute, or fold in by hand.

3. Using a #50/.6 oz. scoop, scoop out heaping mounds of dough and place on a large plate or tray. If you don’t have a scoop, a heaping Tablespoon of dough will work. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, up to 5 days.

4. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (176 degrees C) and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat.*

5. Place cookies 2 inches apart on the cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes*, or until very lightly golden brown around the edges. Be careful not to overbake! It might seem that they’re underbaked, but I promise they’ll be perfect! Cool completely on a wire rack and then store in an airtight container.


Cook’s Notes

1. Averie’s recipe called for 3/4 cup butter, but I decided to replace 1/4 cup of the butter with shortening because I personally feel a mix of the two fats yields a better cookie. Please feel free to use all butter, though, as I know the result will be great!

2. If you aren’t familiar with Silpats, then you need to familiarize yourself away! You can find them at Sur La Table or any high-end kitchen store. Don’t be scared by the price because, if taken care of, they’ll last you many years! I’m an avid baker and I’ve had mine for 5+ years.

(Some tips: Wash Silpats with warm water and mild soap. Do not let them soak in harsh chemicals or bleach. Do not use a knife on them. Do not fold them. When you are done cleaning them, dry with a towel or allow to air dry. Store flat or roll loosely. If you heed my advice, I promise you they’ll be your best friend!)

3. My cookies took closer to 11-12 minutes. Averie was pretty specific that 10 minutes was the absolute max, but I’m telling you… mine would have been completely raw if I pulled them at 10 mins! So I advise you to set your timer for 4 minutes, and then rotate the pan and set it for another 4 minutes. At that point you can check it every minute or so until they’re lightly brown around the edges. I always feel that my next batch cooks more quickly, so be careful to check each subsequent batch so that it doesn’t overbake.

Also, I ever so slightly flattened my cookies. I didn’t do it with the first batch and I wasn’t completely happy with the results. Don’t go flattening them like you would a peanut butter cookie – just very lightly flatten. Feel free to experiment just as I did, though. You might prefer them as is or you might prefer them a tad more flat.

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Thanks for trying my recipe and so glad you’re pleased with the cookies! Interesting that you used shortening and that you had to bake yours for almost 12 mins! Mine would be burnt to a crisp – but I know ovens and climates vary a ton! Glad you got them just the way you like them!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Averie! I’ve noticed in my experience that shortening helps with the shelf-life of cookies, but obviously I’m not a fan of using it if I don’t have to. I’m probably going to make this next batch with all butter and also play around with different chocolates/nuts. I wouldn’t doubt they cook faster since butter cooks/burns more quickly :)

      By the way, LOVE your blog! I’ve made so many recipes from your site and they always turn out perfect!

  2. Pingback: Brown Butter Nutella-Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies | Remote Control-Proof

Leave a Reply

